Biggest differences between homeschooling and regular schooling.

Because people ask, I thought I would write this.

  1. Choices. In regular school, you get told “welcome to 8th grade science” and then whatever curriculum that teacher gives you is the one you have to use. 7th grade science was horrible for me in regular school. The teacher was so bad at teaching and so ill-equipped to handle a classroom full of 13-year-olds that he ended up quitting after only one year. Most classes revolved around him fighting with students, basically begging them to allow him to have class. If I could have just gone off into a quiet room by myself and read the textbook I would have had a better learning experience. 
  2. Fewer textbooks. I think I have maybe two right now, which is great because I hate reading textbooks. My math is through Kahn Academy, which has lectures followed by short assignments. My science is through Education Portal, which works the same way.
  3. A lot less busy work. Rather than completing fifty problems to learn the same skill set, you just have to do as many as it takes for you to feel as though you’ve mastered the material. Quizzes and fill-in-the-blanks are mostly there to help you gauge whether or not you understand the material than to “evaluate” you – with the exception of the ITBS/ITED which they make you take.
  4. Less snobby elitism and competition. At least in my experience, I know some home school groups are completely full of it. When I was in regular school there was so much “well Iiiiiiiiiiiiii am not doing AP because Iiiiiiiiiiiiiii am too good for that and Iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii was accepted to the IB program.” People were so damn competitive about who was going to be in the AP program in high school and who was doing IB or worse, the dual-credit program through the local community college. In homeschooling communities, people are a lot more like “really, you get college credit for that? Awesome! Where do you want to go to school?”
  5. Fewer blinders placed on your social atmosphere. Really, in the real world people actually are friends with people several years older and younger than themselves all the time. In school settings, that is often not the case. I like how in homeschooling it is seen as not at all weird for a 17-year-old and a 13-year-old to be friends whereas in normal middle/high schools it’s practically stigmatized just for a 7th grader to befriend an 8th grader.
  6. Better food. Seriously, just…one thing I will never miss about public schools is the lunches.
  7. Fitness that makes sense. Home school students have to do physical education but you can do basically anything outside the confines of a normal education. You can set up athletic activity to meet your needs versus that run until you puke stuff I dealt with at a normal school. I was not at the same level of fitness as other kids growing up (although I was skinny) and so I always felt sick doing what was just a reasonable workout for most people. No one really taught me how to build up endurance or how to take it slow and start off small, gradually increasing challenge until I got out of regular school and saw a fitness trainer for a few weeks just to get some tips.
  8. Graders aren’t as big of a deal. As long as you do the work right and can demonstrate mastery of a subject, there aren’t these like permanent red marks on your record forever and ever because you did badly on one assignment or forgot one thing once.
  9. Less attendance issues. If you are like me in 2009 and wind up with swine flu, you suddenly find yourself waaaaaaaaaaaaaay behind everyone else and teachers are rarely forgiving. How much work could an eight-year-old possibly have to “make up” from a week of absence? You’d be surprised. I was in there all the time picking up various math worksheets I hadn’t completed, doing quizzes, struggling through some “group” thing (and who does that…makes eight-year-olds do group projects), reading stories they all read in class, etc, all while I still had a terrible cough and felt like shit. When you’re homeschooled it’s more like “oh you’re sick? Cool, get better and then when you’re better you can do your math.” Either that or it’s like “well do what you can.” Rather than watching Nickelodian all day, I can actually watch my lectures on Education Portal or Kahn Academy with a blanket and Kleenex box provided it’s just a minor illness. Swine flu was different, gods, if I had been home schooled then I would not have been watching anything. I tried to watch one of my shows that somebody bought me on iTunes but all I could think about the whole week was how uncomfortable my skin was.
  10. A lot less b.s. if you have any learning disabilities or mental health things. I have an anxiety disorder and sometimes school could be a disaster. A lot of things at school triggered my anxiety and teachers were not at all flexible in working with me. I also had a bit of trouble keeping track of assignments and paying attention to boring things, and nobody was nice about that. If you ever said to a teacher “I feel overwhelmed, I literally have absolutely no free time whatsoever because of my homework” (and indeed I didn’t – I was spending recess working on stuff I was behind in and I was spending from 3:30 to bedtime on math homework most nights partially because it was poorly explained and partially because I was a perfectionist) nothing could ever be done to make things easier. That was how fourth grade was for me, and there was never any thought put into how we could manage that more effectively. 
  11. A lot less bullying and incompetent responses to it. Oftentimes it was other students who made it bad for me. I remember having horrible anxiety attacks over how another girl was being horrible to me in pre-k. When I asked to be put in a separate group from her so that we would not have conflicts anymore, I was accused of being a tattle-tale and a mean person. Later on, I was accused of wanting to start a lynch mob when I asked a teacher to help intervene with some teasing I was dealing with. I also got attacked on a playground once in plain sight of two teachers whose conversation was more important than their jobs or my safety. 
  12. A lot less controlling behavior from adults in your life. I remember how I had to pick up “the bathroom pass” to go to the bathroom and if somebody else had it, then I wasn’t allowed to go, and if we were “learning” then I would be asked why I didn’t “think of it” sooner (because I didn’t have to go sooner, dummy). 
  13. More than 20 minutes to eat your lunch. Goodbye, indigestion!
  14. Unfortunately a bit less social interaction but that can become okay if you have the right things going on in your life. 
2 thoughts on “Biggest differences between homeschooling and regular schooling.

  1. Hi Lilly

    It’s great to be able to read such an articulate and honest blog written by a young person experiencing homeschooling as their own actively directed learning. Most of the stuff I read is from the perspective of parents – which is enormously helpful, but it’s also wonderful to be able to hear your point of view.

    This post raises points I hadn’t considered. When I read point 6, I suddenly had a very clear recollection of how annoying it was when I was at school, that if you forgot (or didn’t have time) to take a packed lunch, you were limited to the terrible stuff on offer at the school tuckshop (if you’d remembered money, that is; otherwise you were limited to nothing til you got home). Ditto point 7 – like you I was a skinny and non-athletic kid, so the standard Phys Ed activities were torture for me. Later, in my 20s I got much more focused on exercising in a way that actually worked for me.

    1. Thank you for compliments! I never understood how cafeterias could get away with giving a kid literally nothing if they forgot their money. Like…come on, they’re a kid.

Leave a Reply

