First week of high school.

It’s week 1 and I’m so behind! Normally I don’t get behind on school except I’ve been sick all week. It’s so stressful, but I think I found a way to make it better.

For those unfamiliar, I try to keep my “weeks” no longer than a week, but ultimately the first week is not finished until I have 225 minutes in each subject. I’m tracking classroom hours to feel “on task.” 

Right now I have a LibreOffice Calc (that’s the poor man’s Excel which I am using until we get around to buying the real one) spreadsheet tracking my hours working on different subjects. So far, for this week, I’m like this.

1. English: 70 minutes to go.

2. Algebra 1: 225 minutes to go (darn).

3. Biology: 215 minutes to go (the video I watched only made up 10 minutes).

4. Social Studies: 153 minutes to go.

5. Health: 225 minutes to go.

6. Computer Applications: 225 minutes to go.

7. I actually don’t have a final elective yet. I’m thinking Spanish but undecided still.

—-

For English, Math, Science, and Social Studies I’m using the TASC preparation guide. For those unfamiliar, the TASC is basically the new GED exam. Since this is my first week of high school, I’m using the TASC guide to find out where I am in terms of mastering the “basic skills” you absolutely have to have to count as any sort of graduate anywhere. I’m only on the English section (the first one) but so far I think I’m doing well. Then again, English is my best subject so yeah.

For Social Studies I am using Grey School of Wizardry as a springboard and doing a lot of research into Ancient Egyptian history online. Hard to do because I hate hate hate hate mummies and don’t want to see all those gross pictures…which makes my research choices limited. I’m also researching the Paleolithic era somewhat. This year’s social studies will be World History with a dash of Geography (because Geography by itself sounds boring and how can I memorize places without knowing what’s going on there?). 

For Biology I have been watching some Saylor Academy videos and will be starting my textbook soon. 

For Algebra I mean to use Khan but haven’t done so yet.

For Health I have a whole syllabus written out for myself (except for the sex ed requirement, guh…it’s one of those things you have to say you did but seeing as how I have trauma and stuff it’s hard to find a version that isn’t just…ugh).

For Computer Applications I’m going to use Microsoft Office’s online videos once I actually get Microsoft Office on my new laptop (the thing was a bargain but it didn’t come with Word).

Leave a comment